Just do it!

Posted: March 18, 2012 by Troy in marriage

How many times have you asked God to help you do something and it seems your prayers aren’t answered? Sometimes God has already given us the answers in his word and he’s waiting on us to take the step of faith! Why not just step up to the plate and take a swing? Ask God to guide you as you move forward but STOP just sitting around. Just do it! Take that step by loving your spouse the way you know the Word has already instructed you to, your guidance is already written down in his word. You don’t have to wait for more guidance. You’ve been asking God to help you be nice to your spouse, just do it! Step up and say “God, I can do this and I’m going to do it”. If it doesn’t go against His word he WILL be with you every step of the way. He is for your marriage being all that it can be, more than most of us realize! Guys, He wants us to love our spouse as much as he loves the Church Eph 5:25 (stop and think about that for a minute).

I have this image in my head of a little girl fixing to ride her bike for the first time without the training wheels. She’s nervous and she knows that her daddy has her bike by the seat and she is safe there, but if she is ever to enjoy the freedom of riding without the training wheels she will have to make the effort of pedaling away from where she is comfortable at to experience the joys of riding. God will be with you always, but sometimes we must take the first step in reaching out to grasp on to what He has in store for us.

If there is something in you’re marriage that is standing in your way of moving forward, I want to challenge you to ask God and your spouse to forgive you. Take this opportunity to just do what you know is your responsibility to do in your marriage. God will be with you in your unsure steps (He was in mine). There have been some things in my marriage that I thought was impossible for me to do, to be honest it came to a point that I just didn’t want to even try to do them. I found myself looking the other way when my spouse needed me or my help. I thought to myself that it would require to much of my time or effort to do what was being requested. I was being selfish. It took me stepping out with faith in God and my wife for me to be able to make the changes in my life that I needed to make. The saying “God helps them who helps themselves” rings true to me here. With help from God and a wonderful wife I was able to Just do it. Every morning it really takes a conscience effort to make up my mind that today I am going to, just do it. It’s paying huge dividends in my marriage and I know that it will in yours as well.

If this speaks to you or if you have something to add, please leave a comment below. We would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

