Words

Posted: June 29, 2012 by Troy in marriage

A good friend and confidant told me something today that really meant a lot to me. They mentioned that it may seem like a random thing to tell me what they had to say. I thanked them for the kind words but I don’t think they knew exactly how much the words really meant to me.

It made me think about how often we think good things or kind words in our minds but they never cross our lips to be heard by our spouse.

It was a huge breakthrough for me the day I realized that I didn’t have to keep my thoughts in. I quite often thought great wonderful things about my wife but never spoke them to her. I was missing out on a chance to uplift her and be supportive in the different things she would do, or maybe just brighten her day by telling her how pretty she looked.

If you have those thoughts, why not share them with the one you love? What’s keeping you from doing it? Fear of allowing your thoughts to be expressed outwardly? Possibly having the words be rejected?

It would seem that having those thoughts and not expressing them, would be the equivalence of never having the thought in the first place. At least to those who need to hear them.

If you aren’t having them, try picking out the positive things that your spouse does and compliment them on it. The more you do it the easier it gets.

Leave a Reply

